Favourites

Recently I was asked to name my favourite book.

Because I had to answer, I blurted out Lord of the Rings. I hadn’t answered falsely, it was a favourite. I enjoyed the book immensely, but was it the favourite?

Lord of the Rings was one of the first books I paid for with money I had earned. It was through this book I fell in love with elves, dwarves and orcs and of course hobbits. But did it really have the title of favourite?

I’m going to back track and go back to my High School days. I remember walking into the High School library for the first time and being blown away by the sheer number of books it held. It was here I found Dune. It was the first book I burrowed and I devoured it within the week. By the end of the term I had read every Frank Herbert book the library had. I couldn’t get enough of these stories and my appetite for Science Fiction grew. I discovered Isaac Asimov, EE Doc Smith, Ray Bradbury, Arthur C Clarke, and John Wyndham. I couldn’t get enough of Ann McCaffery’s Dragon, Talent, Acorna and Brain and Brawn series.

David Eddings and Robin Hobb followed and I devoured their works as well.

And I still can’t choose a favourite.

As much as I enjoy science fiction and fantasy, I am always drawn to horror. Bram Stroker caught my imagination and naturally, Stephen King, Dean Koontz and John Saul followed.

Ann Rice wowed me with Interview of a Vampire and Charlene Harris and Laurell K Hamilton were added to my reading list.

And I haven’t even started on the detective/murder mysteries. Ian Rankin, Patrica Cornwell, and Val McDermid all have their place on my bookshelf.

There is a very long list of other authors and I could spend ages trying to remember their names (or looking up how to spell them). Yet that doesn’t mean they don’t have some memory for me. I can remember many books and their stories, but I can’t remember the titles or the authors – I’m calling my lapse a by-product of age.

In the end, I am still left without an answer.

But do I really need a favourite? There are so many wonderful, fascinating, horrific and gruesome stories other there and disappointingly I will never be able to read them all.

So I’ve come to the conclusion when I’m asked what my favourite book is again, I will stick to Lord of the Rings. After all, how can you not love a hobbit? Or maybe it’s Dragonflight, 2001, Misery, Assassin’s Apprentice…………….

4 thoughts on “Favourites

  1. I know exactly what you mean! My favourites are constantly changing – often I fall in love with a book for a while and then something else comes along that captures my interest and supplants it. And there are books from my childhood that I always think of as favourites but I sometimes wonder whether I would love them as much if I were to read them for the first time now.

    Like

  2. My favourite is Wuthering Heights. The Gothic feel, the love and hate relationships, the dark eerie moors and their daylight fragrant blankets of heather fits into so many categories. Everything is so deliciously at odds with each other and yet it works – the magic of words. What would we do without the world of books?

    Like

Leave a Reply

